Input please!

Hey guys! So normally, I don’t directly ask for comments, but I’m making an exception on this post 🙂 . . .

I’m in the process of professionally photographing my pieces with the intention to create prints to sell. That being said, I’m trying to gather opinions and information regarding what pieces may be most successful and popular as prints.

SOOOO, tell me, what do you like best?!??! Would you buy any prints, cards, stickers, postcards, etc., of the following? Please, honesty is the best policy 🙂 I realize art is objective (and beautifully so), therefore, I’m trying to get a general ‘feel’ of how you all view the work – opinions will vary. I’ll be posting similar inquiries in the future for my other pieces (this is just the beginning!!!)

Thank you in advanced for you help, input, and participation. ~ KP

 

1) Time Collage

©KPdesign

2) Time Buddha 

©KPdesign

3) Storm

©KPdesign

4) Palms

©KPdesign

5) It’s Time For…

©KPdesign

6) Hour Glass

©KPdesign

7) Gandoca

©KPdesign

About KPdesign

If you like what you see, I am also available for free lance and commission. My specialties lie in print design and fine art/illustration but my abilities are expansive and include but are not limited to photography, mural painting, textile art, and web design. Thank you for your time and your support! ~ KP
This entry was posted in Drawing Meditation, Fine Art, From KP, Illustration, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Input please!

  1. Gigi Galore says:

    Sorry – quite busy at the moment and not been doing blog things ,,, but very quickly, i LOVE the first one so much! And the palms! I love the messy way that you work. The authenticity, the brightness, the truthfulness! 🙂 Hope that helps! 🙂

    • KPdesign says:

      Gigi – no worries. Thanks for taking the time to comment anyway 🙂 It truly does help. There are a lot of votes for the first one thus far….really helping me get some insight! Hope all is well and thank you again.

      • Gigi Galore says:

        Great! I mean “messy” as in free and unpremeditated – or it looks that way!! 🙂

      • KPdesign says:

        ha! Thanks Gigi – messy too – I am always finding paint in my hair or back of the arm where I can’t see…not to mention how the studio looks after a day of work 😉

  2. Ben Michaud says:

    So here are my possibly too comprehensive thoughts. :p
    1)First of all, I love Time Collage. It’s colourful, it’s bold, there’s so many things to look at even after the first glance. I really liked looking at this picture and finding all the extra interesting things going on and although by being on a postcard you’d still get a feel for the different textures present. The Clock is subtle and not overpowering, but definitely there. I like it a lot and think it’d work as any of the things you have in mind for it.
    2) Time Buddha is actually probably one of my least favourites on here as it is shown. I like a lot of individual things about it such as the mixture of line drawn buddhas and colour, the texture of the paper it’s all done on. but personally I don’t like the inclusion of the text over the images in this one. I think it detracts slightly and gets in the way and don’t know what the dictionary definition of time has to do with the buddhas, but i realise this is just me. Also, if this is a for a post card, having this textured paper and then potentially having straight edges on it feels like a clash to me, I’d much prefer something like to have it have ripped edges and then placed *within* the postcard so you can see the ripped edges if this makes sense. In my mind I would mostly see this one as a postcard with the above suggestions, but I’m not sure why.
    3)Yep, like it. Safe to say I like a lot of your art (:D), and this is another one. I love the idea of creating a storm like this using texture and shadows to give everything more depth and mood. I think it looks really cool and would make a Solid postcard, print, etc
    4) I actually thought Palms was a photo for half a second when i first saw it! It’s really cool you’ve got so much depth in your designs! Again, I like it, but out of these 7 it’s probably roughly in the middle, definitely awesome, but prefer some of the others, but I KNOW that is just my opinion on what I like.
    5)I can’t work out what It’s time for…. is for. pun intended! :p It’s nice, but I don’t get this one so will leave it to people who do get it to comment. Sorry.
    6)I also love Hour Glass! The fact that most of the other ones here have used recycled bits of paper, I’d kind of prefer to see the words as cutouts from newspapers, magazines and books, or even hand writing, rather than just printed text. Also if you did snippets of words, you could start with white paper and printed words and slowly age the paper the words are on/from as you go through the saying until the last word looks ancient to further encapsulate time! 😉 just a thought, I do love it just as it is though. I think this could work great as a post card, but just my thoughts
    7) Also like this one, Gandoca reminds me of a tropical island sunset at the end of summer when you get every colour possible in the sky, but also in the sea. listening to the cicadas and the surf on the beach as the air gets chilly. Yes indeed I like this one, but wouldn’t know how best to use it unfortunately.

    Hope this is ok as far as a comment goes – it’s a tad long to be honest. Sorry about that. 😉

    • KPdesign says:

      BEN!!!
      Wow – what a comment 😉 Thank you so very much for taking all that time to analyze each piece and describe your point of view to me. I’m sure that took a large chunk of time and I appreciate that. And your opinions are so valid – that’s the beauty of art (as I see)…there is not right or wrong. Everyone just views things through different lenses. I am taking in all you’ve said and adding it to my notes to help make my ultimate decision. I love your honesty and analysis my friend! It’s all so fascinating to me! Thank you a million times – you’re a gem my friend.

  3. jav3d says:

    I like Palms, Storm and Gandoca most, in that order : )
    Goodluck 😉

  4. Hey!!
    Well, although I come from an “artistic” 😉 family, I could never put into words how I feel about one.
    BUT, as for cards/postcards, I can easily see “Time Buddha”, “It’s Time For…” and “Hour Glass” as one of the two and people here in Berlin would love them! (As far as I’ve noticed)
    Big hug, and looking forward to see what you come up with next!
    Uriel

    • KPdesign says:

      Thank you Uriel! Your perspective and input is so valuable. I’m tallying up what people prefer – almost like an experiment. It’s really interesting for me to receive feedback. I love hearing your ‘Berlin’ point of view! YAY. Thanks ~ KP

  5. Maureen (friend of Quinn) says:

    Hour Glass is my favorite piece here. So for a 45+ age group this resonates. I think note cards I would purchase only because the color palette is so pink and would not work on the walls of my home. I think for artwork to hang, most houses are in the earthtones and warm. My mom is in the cools with blues, silvers, grey but still to hang pink would definitely not work for her. So things to think about if you are designing for wall art. But interesting work and i like the added texture.

    • KPdesign says:

      Maureen. Thank you so much for your honest input! It is so very helpful and you make a very good point. Yes, pink isn’t usually a color one wants to hang on the wall. Note cards are a great idea for this piece in particular. Thank you for taking the time to give me some insight 🙂

Thoughts...comments...questions?

