Fill in the __________. (Who is KP)

another ‘check’ off my list – ‘about the artist’ statement: ☑

©KPdesign 2013

©KPdesign 2013

©KPdesign 2013

©KPdesign 2013

Handwritten text:

Hello! My name is Kaitlyn Parker, but you can call me KP.

Originally from the ridiculously small town of Prescott Valley, Arizona (U.S.A), I went to university in the slightly larger town of Flagstaff, Arizona where I studied art and design. In May, 2010, I completed my Bachelor of Fine Arts in Visual Communication and Graphic Design.

In September of 2010, I found myself moving to Germany to begin a grand adventure and pursue my great passion: art. I am painter at heart who consequently evolved into a photographer and graphic designer. I cannot help but create and imagine. It is my life. The urge is ever-present and inspiration comes every day, whether walking down the street, reading a book, or trying to fall asleep. I love to combine handson media, such as painting and drawing, with the digital process. There is something about the touch, smell, and notion of paint and pencil – tangible materials – which digital methods can never replace. Additionally, I am fascinated with re-using and repurposing ‘trash’ and recycled goods in my work as a way to make small, positive impacts on the environment and also challenge myself to create something desirable from something discarded.

“Fill in the _________” is a compilation of my work from 2005 until now and exhibits my growth and evolution as an artist. Amongst my most popular works are recycled pieces and my most recent exploration I call the “Drawing Meditation” style in which each piece begins with a specific theme, but the end product is unknown and materializes as the ‘meditation’ ensues. The work is based upon a moment-to-moment concentration of each form and how it might progress and flow with each additional shape. Every drawing is completely unique. I like to think that the drawings decide how they will manifest themselves – I simply sit back, draw, and observe what unfolds. I created the Drawing Meditation premise a little over a year ago as a means of relaxation. Since then, the drawings have evolved and adapted to incorporate ever-expanding themes, clients, and challenges.

Since moving to Berlin in 2012 I have been pursuing a freelance career as a painter, illustrator, graphic designer and photographer under my company name, KP Design. Examples of my capabilities include, but are not limited to: murals, fabric/textile paintings, graphic design, photography, custom paintings, card design, and a bit of web design. I’m available for commission and freelance.  My work is also available for purchase – both originals and prints.

Please feel free to contact me for further inquiries: info@kparkerdesign.net

Thank you sincerely for coming to my exhibition.

About KPdesign

If you like what you see, I am also available for free lance and commission. My specialties lie in print design and fine art/illustration but my abilities are expansive and include but are not limited to photography, mural painting, textile art, and web design. Thank you for your time and your support! ~ KP
This entry was posted in Drawing Meditation, Fine Art, From KP, Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Typography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts...comments...questions?